And so my time of being spoiled comes to an end.

At least as far as laundry is concerned.

Back in 2009, when I was in the worst of my Crohn’s suffering, and so weak I could hardy climb a flight of stairs, I started sending out my laundry. For $50 a month, someone would come and pick up my laundry once a week, and bring it back the same day, usually within a few hours. It was a lifesaver. I lived on the third floor at that time, and it was enough of a struggle to get my own body up the stairs, let alone with a bag of laundry.

Then I had two surgeries, and it took me a long time to regain my strength (such as it was). But even after I was physically able to do my own laundry (and had moved to a first-floor apartment) I still continued to use the laundry service. It was lovely to just bag everything up and hand it to someone, and then have it come back a few hours later, neatly folded, sometimes still warm from the dryer.

Sometimes I did feel a twinge of luxury guilt. Why was I continuing to send out my laundry? I’m only one person, I don’t generate that much dirty clothing in a week. I would never spend $50 in quarters in the machines over the course of the month. I’m just lazy. And spoiled. And of course I also justified it by saying, “I’m supporting a small business!”

Until today. When they made the pickup today they told me the laundry was closing, and this would be the last pickup. They didn’t really say why, and I didn’t ask a lot of questions. Another small business casualty I suppose.

So, I’ve been relieved of my luxury guilt, and I’ll be back to doing my own laundry, and saving a few bucks a month. I also get my Sundays back. I had to be at home for pick up and delivery, so I couldn’t go anywhere on Sunday mornings or early afternoons. It never caused that much of a problem, but there was the rare brunch offer that I had to decline if I didn’t have enough notice to reschedule. And I had to be awake and presentable when they showed up to pick up my clothes, so there wasn’t much sleeping in on Sundays.

So, while I’m sad that they had to close, I think in the long run it will be better for me. Maybe I can put those extra unspent laundry dollars in my Italy trip savings account.

And so my time of being spoiled comes to an end.