Headless Fat

I was just in the lunchroom heating my soup, and the channel 9 news was on TV. They were doing a story about how it is apparently bad to be fat. (I couldn’t hear the specifics of the story, I was too far away from the TV, but it probably doesn’t matter.)

Anyway, they were using the obligatory footage of fat people walking around, making their way in the world, but “mercifully” cropping their heads off. As a fat person I find that so dehumanizing and humiliating it makes my teeth clench. I also wait in horror for the moment that I recognize myself among the headless fat.

What purpose does this serve, besides making people feel shitty about themselves? It also makes the automatic assumption that these people are or should be ashamed of themselves for how they look, and the news is doing them a favor by hiding their identities. I understand, it’s television, there has to be a picture on the screen while they tell you whatever the latest finding is about how being fat is terrible and epidemic, but there’s got to be a better alternative.

Headless Fat